nh scottish rite header
about nh scottish ritevalleysconsistorycharitieslearning centerscouncil of deliberation

Our Vision - "We will strive to be a fraternity that fulfills our Masonic obligation to care for our members."

Our Mission

  • Provide Inspiration for our members through meaningful programs and degrees.

  • Provide Convenient opportunities for our members to enhance their lives.

  • Provide Enjoyable programs and fellowship activities for our members.

About Scottish Rite

The Scottish Rite of Freemasonry is one of two branches of Freemasonry to which a Master Mason may proceed after he has completed the first three degrees of the Symbolic or "Blue" Lodge. The Scottish Rite includes the degrees from the 4º through the 32º. 

Although there are many Scottish Rite members of Scottish ancestry, the Scottish Rite actually originated in France in the early 18th century. During the 18th century, lodges of perfection were organized in the United States, with the first being established in Albany, NY by Henry Andrew Francken. The first Scottish Rite Supreme Council was founded in Charleston, South Carolina, in 1801.

A Mason who chooses to further his Masonic experience by becoming a 32º Scottish Rite Mason will be expanding upon the fundamental principles of Freemasonry. The moral and ethical lessons will allow him to be constantly reminded of his duty to God, family, country and fellow man.

  • image1
  • image2
  • image3
  • image4

22º, Prince of Libanus

24º, Brother of the Forest

Degree Structure

Whereas a Symbolic Lodge appears in almost every community in the United States, the Scottish Rite units tend to be regional and are called "Valleys". These are similar to a District for a Masonic Grand Lodge. Valleys are divided into distinct organizations responsible for specific Scottish Rite Degrees. Many Valleys are made up of all four parts, but in other Valleys a candidate continues through his degrees in a neighboring Valley.

The Lodge of Perfection confers the 4º-14º. These are commonly referred to as the ineffable degrees. In the 11 lessons the candidate will observe many references, scenes and characters which recall and amplify the three Symbolic degrees.

The Council of Princes of Jerusalem confers the 15º and 16º which teach lessons using the settings based on the Babylonian captivity of the Hebrews and the building of the second Temple.

The Chapter of Rose Croix confers the 17º and 18º, and is the spiritual heart of Scottish Rite. These degrees teach that the only lasting Temple is in the soul of man.

The Consistory confers the 19º-32º. These degrees portray many memorable lessons that range in settings from the days of chivalry through the 20th Century.

New Hampshire Scottish Rite is comprised of five Valleys: Concord, Keene, Lancaster-Littleton, Nashua and Portsmouth-Dover. Of these, the Valley of Nashua has all four organizations (or "bodies"), with the Consistory serving the other four Valleys, as well.

Typically, a Mason will join the Valley that is located in his Masonic District. Visit the Valley pages for more on which Valleys cover which Masonic Districts.


Follow NH Scottish Rite on these social networks!

Facebook  Wordpress Blog  


state calendar
frequently asked questions
contact us